Creative Code

Spotify usage data

The semester project in Creative Code 2 deals with data visualization. For this purpose shape, color, arrangement and animation are the main elements. Labels must be avoided.

Preparation

It took quite an effort to get my data from Spotify. At the same time the first ideas came up. For example, to use the primary color of the album covers to show a differentiability of each song without using pictures. I sorted my data and defined three perspectives on how it could be visualized.

Sort data

In addition to the data I already received from Spotify, I needed more data from external databases such as a weather database to get the temperature of the days and additional information from Spotify.

Additional information from Spotify

I had to work with the Spotify API to match the cover images of the tracks with the dataset. It didn't work without Spotify IDs, so first of all I had to manually add the Spotify IDs to my dataset. Unfortunately these were not included in the dataset for unexplainable reasons.
Once I had all the IDs, I was ready for the Spotify API, but unfortunately it wasn't ready for me. Several attempts failed. Shortly before giving up I succeeded in fishing the cover images with node.js and the embedded URL of Spotify.

Finally, I coded a tool to determine the primary color from the cover pictures of each song with the help of the JavaScript Library ColorThief.

Finaler Datensatz

Final dataset

  • Date
  • Time
  • Time played
  • Track
  • Album
  • Artist

Additional data

  • Temperature per day
  • Spotify ID
  • Cover image

Final realization

3 Perspektiven

I heard music 84 days out of 89. Ten percent of my lifetime is being accompanied by music.

Demo

Info

The project was an individual work and was supervised by Prof. Benedikt Groß.

Project

Programmiertes Entwerfen

Spotify usage data

Das Semesterprojekt in Programmiertem Entwerfen 2 befasst sich mit der Datenvisualisierung. Dabei spielt Form, Farbe, Anordnung und Animation eine entscheidende Rolle. Auf Beschriftungen muss verzichtet werden.

Vorarbeit

Es erforderte einen ziemlichen Aufwand, meine Daten von Spotify zu bekommen. Parallel dazu entstanden die ersten Ideen, wie die Primärfarbe der Albumcover zu verwenden, um eine Unterscheidbarkeit der Songs darzustellen ohne Bilder zu verwenden. Ebenfalls legte ich drei Perspektiven fest, wie meine Daten visualisiert werden können. Die Sortierung der Daten und welche überhaupt in der Visualisierung Verwendung finden, stand im nächsten Schritt zur Debatte.

Daten sortieren

Zusätzlich zu den bereits vorhandenen Daten von Spotify benötigte ich noch weitere von externen Datenbanken. Eine Wetterdatenbank um die Temperatur der Tage zu bekommen und Zusatzinformationen von Spotify waren von Nöten.

Zusatz Informationen von Spotify

Um die Coverbilder der Tracks mit dem Datensatz abgleichen zu können, musste ich mit der Spotify API arbeiten. Da ohne Spotify IDs jedoch nichts funktioniert, musste ich zuallererst meinen Datensatz um die Spotify IDs manuell erweitern. Diese waren leider aus unerklärlichen Gründen nicht im Datensatz enthalten.
Als ich alle IDs hatte, war ich bereit für die Spotify API, diese jedoch nicht für mich. Etliche Versuche scheiterten. Kurz vorm Aufgeben gelang mir dann doch noch das Abfischen der Coverbilder mithilfe von node.js und der Embedded-URL von Spotify.

Nun codete ich ein Tool um aus dem Coverbilder der einzelnen Songs den primären Farbton bestimmen konnte. Dies gelang mir mit Hilfe der JavaScript Library ColorThief.

Finaler Datensatz

Daten von Spotify

  • Datum
  • Uhrzeit
  • Gespielte Zeit
  • Track
  • Album
  • Artist

Zusätzliche Daten

  • Temperatur pro Tag
  • Spotify ID
  • Coverbild

Finale Umsetzung

3 Perspektiven

An 84 von 89 Tagen habe ich Musik gehört. Zehn Prozent meiner Lebenszeit wird von Musik begleitet.

Demo

Info

Das Projekt war eine Einzelarbeit und wurde von Prof. Benedikt Groß betreut.

Projekt